Image
Take toys. . . Go home!

OK, so I didn’t like it. I did not like the sting of criticism. I didn’t like the behind curtain way it was presented. It smacked of politics. And I wanted to quit!

I was doing my best, but that wasn’t what bothered me. What bothered me was the lack of integrity in the communication. Obviously the job I was doing needed improvement. All the feedback I had received was positive. But, I treasure open communication. Communication filled with truth (not fact. . .TRUTH). Communication with a level of transperancy. It was not criticism that bothered me, it was the lack of trust in our relationship that this person felt the freedom to speak it behind my back.

I WANNA TAKE MY TOYS AND GO HOME!

I did exactly what I had just been challenged not to do. I shut down, I stuffed my feelings and I QUIT. I will take my inadequate skills and ability and go home. Let’s see how bad you think I did next week when YOU have to figure this crap out. I don’t care. I am quitting and. . .  and I am going home. 

Did I say this to the person??? OH NOOOOOOOOO

I don’t like confrontation. I still feel betrayed, I still feel like quitting. But, I guess I will stay.

WHY STAY????

Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms. (1 Pet. 4:10)

Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. (Romans 12:4-6a)

OK, so my toys don’t belong to me. They were loaned to me. I am not staying because I like you, because truthfully, right now I don’t. But God gave me my gifts/toys to serve. I serve God, who has made me of service to men/women. So. . . I can’t take my toys. . . 

THEY DON’T BELONG TO ME. . . 

Next task, learn how to handle confrontation. But I am happy with my small growth. . . 

